service provider 4PL 5PL supply chain logistics e-commerce defi groupe diapason fosses cdg

Why choose a 4PL logistics provider? 6 advantages and one mission

by | Feb 1, 2024 | 0 comments

Do you want to increase efficiency, meet the needs of a constantly changing market and control your logistics costs? Then you need a 4PL partner. Logistics outsourcing is a solution that offers a high degree of operational flexibility. It enables companies to optimize their supply chain, improve performance and enhance their brand image. There are several levels at which you can delegate your warehousing and transport operations. Before going into detail about the advantages of 4PL, here are 4 types of logistics provider.

1PL, 2PL, 3PL, 4PL and 5PL: understanding the different ways to outsource logistics

PL stands for "Party Logistics". In French, the term is translated as "fournisseur logistique". The number that accompanies the acronym represents the degree of logistics outsourcing. The higher the number, the higher the level of service.

service provider 4PL 5PL supply chain logistics packaging picking transport customs defi diapason fosse cdg

 

1PL - First Party Logistics

A "1PL" company manages all its own logistics to deliver its products or merchandise to its customers. An example would be a market gardener who produces, stores and then delivers his vegetables himself to his supermarket customers.

2PL - Second Party Logistics

The same market gardener could call on a 2PL service provider. The latter has its own logistics and human resources (fleet of vehicles, warehouses, drivers, etc.). Its role is to store and/or transport the vegetables from the grower to his customers.

3PL - Third Party Logistics

The 3PL provider also provides storage and transport services. They offer complementary services such as order preparation, reverse logistics (return flow) or cross-docking. Here, customers outsource part of their logistics, but retain control of overall order management, invoicing and planning.

In our example, the market gardener can call on a 3PL logistics provider to consolidate one package per order from several different pallets of vegetables. The service provider will then pack, store and deliver the goods.

4PL - Fourth Party Logistics

The 4PL model involves outsourcing the entire logistics process. The service provider is responsible for planning, managing inventories and collection and delivery rounds, coordinating teams, etc. It offers consulting services and provides storage and transport services, which it sometimes subcontracts to 3PL providers.

For our market gardener, a 4PL supplier can manage and implement his entire supply chain. For example, it can manage production and supply stocks according to demand. The aim here is to limit losses.

5PL - Fifth Party Logistics

The 5PL provider goes even further than the 4PL model. To optimize the entire supply chain and maximize productivity, it integrates innovative logistics solutions. These are based on advanced technologies such as artificial intelligence, robotics and automation. They take into account not only the market gardener's own production, but also the systems and processes of his suppliers, the stock levels of his direct and indirect customers, and market fluctuations.

The mission of a 4PL supplier: 3 essential roles

The role of the 4PL provider can be divided into 3 main functions.

1. A strategic function

Based on an analysis of market, product, service and customer requirements, the 4PL supplier draws up a logistics roadmap designed to meet the company's objectives. These may include improving quality, reducing transport costs or speeding up production.

2. An operational function

The 4PL service provider organizes day-to-day logistics activities, using his own resources or those of subcontractors. They plan the flow of products through the supply chain, manage and monitor stocks, and provide customer service.

3. A support function

Monitoring and improving logistics efficiency are also part of the 4PL service provider's mission. As an advisor, he supports the client company in achieving its objectives by proposing advanced solutions to optimize its processes.

The advantages of 4PL: 6 reasons to adopt this logistics model

More than just a service provider, a 4PL is a strategic partner for your company. Among the plethora of advantages it can bring you, here are 6.

1. Gain full visibility of your supply chain

To establish a relevant supply chain strategy, a 4PL service provider needs to study your logistics process in its entirety, the performance of your storage and transport operations, and inventory levels at each stage. This gives you greater visibility and perspective on the way you operate. As a result, you can make better-informed decisions and optimize your results.

2. Minimize logistical risks

4PL service providers are specialists in their field. They know how to prevent risks, anticipate unfavorable scenarios and react quickly in the event of an anomaly or accident. They also avoid mistakes and prevent poor strategic choices. They ensure supply chain continuity, even at the most critical times.

3. Optimize supply chain efficiency

If you benefit from the expertise of a 4PL, you can only boost the optimization of your supply chain. Thanks to advanced logistical resources and experienced teams, the service provider can guarantee increased operational efficiency on several levels: minimizing losses, speeding up deliveries, boosting productivity, reducing disputes, and so on.

4. Save time

Logistics can be a time-consuming job when you don't know the business or don't have the resources. All it takes is one grain of sand for the machine to get stuck. If, for example, one of your pallets gets lost during delivery, you can spend hours on the phone trying to trace it... Delegating your logistics operations allows you to concentrate on your core business and its development.

5. Be flexible and respond better to customer demand

Supported by a 4PL partner, a company can adapt its logistics processes to market trends. It can adjust its production to meet customer demand. It can also work on a just-in-time basis to avoid losses, and respond to urgent orders at any time.

6. Reduce production and logistics costs

Outsourcing logistics is not a burden, it's an investment. By optimizing the supply chain, a company can save time and money. This not only reduces costly errors, but also unnecessary actions and purchases, irrelevant recruitment, etc.

What types of company are involved in 4PL/5PL logistics?

The 4PL model is designed for companies whose core business is not logistics, but whose business is heavily impacted by logistics. It is also useful for complex supply chains requiring strict planning and organization. The 4PL service provider operates in sectors where speed and responsiveness are critical.

Medical device companies are particularly in need of this type of logistician. In some cases, for example, surgeons only place an order for a prosthesis when the patient is anaesthetized. They may request several sizes of the same medical device, if they are unsure of the right dimensions before surgery. These situations leave no room for error. The 4PL mode makes it possible to meet these all-important requirements.

The 4PL provider can also be useful to maintenance and repair companies in the field. It provides supply chain control, inventory management and transportation. Instead of wasting considerable time searching for and storing parts, technicians can concentrate on the job in hand. They know that the material they need is available, and that it will be delivered on time.

Retail and e-commerce are other sectors where efficient logistics have a major impact. The 4PL enables you to control inventories to avoid shortages and overproduction, make deliveries in less than 24 hours, and pool transport rounds to reduce logistics costs.

The 4 & 5PL model: a response to a complex market

In recent years, we have witnessed a change in consumer habits, as they become increasingly demanding in terms of quality, price and service efficiency. Companies in all sectors, whatever their position in the supply chain, have an interest in improving their performance and controlling their cost structures.

The 4PL trend is growing. This model enables companies to achieve their objectives with the support of experts. In this way, they can optimize their processes and meet market requirements.

Sources :

  • www.mecalux.fr
  • www.blog.xplog.fr
  • www.docshipper.fr

0 comments

Submit a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

prestataire 4PL 5PL supply chain logistique e-commerce defi groupe diapason fosses cdg

Pourquoi choisir un prestataire logistique 4PL ? 6 avantages et une mission

Fév 1, 2024

Vous souhaitez gagner en efficacité, répondre aux besoins d’un marché en constante évolution et maîtriser vos coûts logistiques ? C’est un partenaire 4PL qu’il vous faut. L’externalisation logistique est une solution qui offre beaucoup de souplesse opérationnelle. Elle permet aux entreprises d’optimiser leur chaîne d’approvisionnement, d’améliorer leurs performances et leur image de marque. Il existe plusieurs niveaux pour déléguer ses opérations de stockage et de transport. Avant de vous détailler les avantages du 4PL, voici 4 types de prestataires logistiques.

1PL, 2PL, 3PL, 4PL et 5PL : comprendre les différentes manières d’externaliser sa logistique

PL signifie, en anglais, « Party Logistics ». En français, le terme se traduit par « fournisseur logistique ». Le chiffre qui accompagne le sigle représente le degré d’externalisation logistique. Ainsi, plus le premier est élevé, plus les prestations sont importantes.

prestataire 4PL 5PL supply chain logistique packaging picking transport douane defi diapason fosse cdg

 

Le 1PL, « First Party Logistics » ou « logistique en une partie »

Une entreprise dite en 1PL gère l’ensemble de sa logistique elle-même pour livrer ses produits ou sa marchandise à ses clients. Il s’agit, par exemple, d’un maraîcher qui produit, stocke, puis livre, lui-même, ses légumes à ses clients de la grande distribution.

Le 2PL, « Second Party Logistics » ou « logistique en deux parties »

Ce même maraîcher pourrait faire appel à un prestataire 2PL. Celui-ci possède ses propres moyens logistiques et humains (flotte automobile, entrepôts, chauffeurs, etc.). Son rôle consiste à stocker et/ou à transporter les légumes du producteur jusqu’à ses clients.

Le 3PL, « Third Party Logistics » ou « logistique en trois parties »

Le prestataire 3PL fournit, lui aussi, des services de stockage et de transport. Il propose des prestations complémentaires telles que la préparation de commandes, la logistique inverse (en flux retour) ou le cross-docking. Ici, le client externalise une partie de sa logistique, mais reste maître de la gestion globale de ses commandes, sa facturation et sa planification.

Dans notre exemple, le maraîcher peut faire appel à un logisticien en 3PL pour consolider un colis par commande à partir de plusieurs palettes de légumes différents. Le prestataire sera ensuite chargé d’emballer, de stocker et de livrer la marchandise.

Le 4PL, « Fourth Party Logistics » ou « logistique en quatre parties »

Le modèle 4PL consiste à externaliser l’ensemble de son process logistique. Le prestataire se charge de la planification, de la gestion des stocks et des tournées de collecte et de livraison, de la coordination entre les équipes, etc. Il propose du conseil et fournit des services de stockage et de transport qu’il sous-traite parfois à des prestataires 3PL.

Pour notre maraîcher, un fournisseur 4PL peut gérer et réaliser toute sa chaîne d’approvisionnement. Par exemple, il peut s’occuper de la gestion de la production et de l’alimentation des stocks en fonction de la demande. L’objectif ici est de limiter les pertes.

Le 5PL, « Fifth Party Logistics » ou « logistique en cinq parties »

Le prestataire 5PL va encore plus loin que le modèle 4PL. Afin d’optimiser l’ensemble de la supply chain et de maximiser sa productivité, il intègre des solutions logistiques innovantes. Celles-ci s’appuient sur des technologies développées telles que l’intelligence artificielle, la robotique et l’automatisation. Elles ne prennent pas seulement en compte la production du maraîcher, mais aussi les systèmes et process de ses fournisseurs, le niveau de stocks de ses clients directs et indirects et les fluctuations du marché.

La mission d’un fournisseur 4PL : 3 rôles essentiels

Le rôle du prestataire 4PL se divise en 3 fonctions principales.

1. Une fonction stratégique

À partir d’une analyse des besoins selon les spécificités du marché, des produits, des services et des clients, le fournisseur 4PL conçoit une feuille de route logistique visant à atteindre les objectifs de l’entreprise. Il peut s’agir de l’amélioration du taux de qualité, de la réduction des coûts de transport ou encore de l’accélération de la production.

2. Une fonction opérationnelle

Le prestataire 4PL organise les activités logistiques au quotidien avec ses propres moyens ou en sous-traitant. Il planifie le parcours des produits tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, assure la gestion et le suivi des stocks ainsi que le service client.

3. Une fonction support

Le suivi et l’amélioration de l’efficacité logistique font aussi partie des missions du prestataire 4PL. Fournisseur de conseils, il accompagne l’entreprise cliente vers l’atteinte de ses objectifs en proposant des solutions avancées pour optimiser ses process.

Les avantages du 4PL : 6 raisons pour adopter ce modèle logistique

Au-delà d’un prestataire, le 4PL est un partenaire stratégique de votre entreprise. Parmi une pléthore d’avantages qu’il peut vous apporter, en voici 6.

1. Avoir une visibilité totale de sa chaîne d’approvisionnement

Pour établir une stratégie supply chain pertinente, le prestataire 4PL doit étudier votre processus logistique dans sa globalité, les performances de vos opérations de stockage et de transport, et le niveau des stocks à chaque étape. Il vous permet d’avoir plus de visibilité et de recule sur votre manière de fonctionner. Au final, vos prises de décisions sont mieux éclairées et vos résultats optimisés.

2. Minimiser les risques logistiques

Le prestataire 4PL est un spécialiste dans son domaine. Il sait prévenir les risques, anticiper des scénarios défavorables et réagir rapidement en cas d’anomalie ou d’accident. Il évite aussi les erreurs et empêche les mauvais choix stratégiques. Il assure donc une continuité de la supply chain, même dans les moments les plus critiques.

3. Optimiser l’efficacité de sa supply chain

Si vous bénéficiez de l’expertise d’un 4PL, vous ne pouvez que booster l’optimisation de votre chaîne d’approvisionnement. Grâce à des moyens logistiques avancés et d’équipes expérimentées, le prestataire peut garantir une efficacité opérationnelle accrue, et ce, à plusieurs niveaux : minimisation des pertes, accélération des livraisons, hausse de productivité, diminution des litiges, etc.

4. Gagner du temps

Lorsqu’on ne connaît pas le métier ou qu’on manque de moyens, la logistique est un poste très chronophage. Il suffit d’un grain de sable pour que la machine se coince. Si par exemple, l’une de vos palettes se perd en cours de livraison, vous pouvez passer des heures au téléphone pour retrouver sa trace… Déléguer vos opérations logistiques vous permet de vous concentrer sur le cœur de votre activité et son développement.

5. Être flexible et mieux répondre à la demande de ses clients

Accompagnée par un partenaire 4PL, une entreprise peut adapter ses processus logistiques aux évolutions du marché. Elle peut ajuster sa production en fonction des demandes de ses clients. Elle a aussi la possibilité de travailler en flux tendu pour éviter les pertes et de répondre aux commandes urgentes à tout moment.

6. Réduire les coûts de production et les coûts logistiques

Externaliser sa logistique n’est pas une charge, c’est un investissement. En optimisant la chaîne d’approvisionnement, l’entreprise peut gagner en temps et en argent. Ceci a, non seulement pour but de limiter les erreurs coûteuses, mais aussi les actions et achats inutiles, les recrutements non-pertinents, etc.

À quels types d’entreprises correspond la logistique 4PL/5PL ?

Le modèle 4PL s’adresse aux entreprises dont le cœur de métier n’est pas la logistique, mais ce poste impacte fortement leur activité. Il est aussi utile aux chaînes d’approvisionnement complexes qui nécessitent une planification et une organisation strictes. Le prestataire 4PL intervient dans les secteurs où la rapidité et la réactivité sont des enjeux critiques.

Les entreprises de dispositifs médicaux ont particulièrement besoin de ce type de logisticien. Dans certains cas, par exemple, les chirurgiens ne passent commande pour une prothèse que quand le patient est anesthésié. Ils peuvent demander plusieurs tailles du même dispositif médical, s’ils ne sont pas certains des dimensions adéquates avant une opération chirurgicale. Ces situations ne laissent aucune place à l’erreur. Le mode 4PL permet de répondre à ces exigences de la plus haute importance.

Le prestataire 4PL peut aussi être utile aux entreprises de maintenance et de réparation sur le terrain. Il assure le contrôle de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, la gestion des stocks et le transport. Au lieu de perdre un temps considérable à chercher et ranger les différentes pièces, les techniciens se concentrent sur leur intervention. Ils savent que le matériel dont ils ont besoin est disponible et qu’il leur sera livré en temps et en heure.

Autre secteur fortement impacté par l’efficacité de sa logistique : le commerce de détail et l’e-commerce. Le 4PL permet de maîtriser les stocks de manière à éviter les ruptures et la surproduction, de réaliser des livraisons en moins de 24 heures ou encore de mutualiser les tournées de transport afin de réduire les coûts logistiques.

Le modèle 4 & 5PL : une réponse à un marché complexe

Nous assistons ces dernières années à un changement dans les habitudes des consommateurs qui sont de plus en plus exigeants en termes de qualité, de prix et d’efficacité de service. Les entreprises, tous secteurs confondus et quelle que soit leur place dans la chaîne logistique, ont intérêt à augmenter leurs performances et maîtriser leurs structures de coups.

La tendance des 4PL est croissante. Ce modèle permet aux entreprises d’atteindre leurs objectifs en étant accompagnées par des experts. Elles peuvent ainsi optimiser leurs processus et répondre aux exigences du marché.

Sources :

  • www.mecalux.fr
  •  www.blog.xplog.fr
  • www.docshipper.fr

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *